Arun Jaitley Stadium

Arun Jaitley Stadium | IPL 2021 Venues |

IPL 2021 is just around the corner, and six stadiums are selected for this year’s edition. Arun Jaitley Stadium, Eden Gardens, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Chepauk Stadium, Wankhede Stadium, and Narendra Modi Stadium. All these stadiums are very important in Indian Cricket, which makes it important for everyone to know about them. Here is the first stadium of this series.

Arun Jaitley Stadium

The Arun Jaitley stadium, formerly known as Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, is located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi. The ground was established in 1883, which makes it the second oldest functioning ground in India after Eden gardens. As of 2016, The Indian national cricket team has been undefeated for over 28 years in test matches, and for over 10 years in ODI matches at this ground.

On 12 September 2019, the stadium was renamed in memory of former Finance Minister and former DDCA President Arun Jaitley. The decision to name the stadium after the politician, who was once the president of DDCA and also the vice-president of the BCCI came after he died on 24 August 2019. Speaking on the name change, current DDCA president Rajat Sharma said: “It was Arun Jaitley’s support and encouragement that players like Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Rishabh Pant and many others could make India proud.”

Records at Arun Jaitley Stadium

In 1952, playing against Pakistan, Hemu Adhikari and Ghulam Ahmed recorded the tenth wicket stand of 111 runs. The record that still stands. 1965was when, S Venkataraghavan, in his debut series, demolished the New Zealand lineup with figures of 8 for 72 and 4 for 80. In 1969–70, Bishen Singh Bedi and Erapalli Prasanna combined to spin India to a famous seven-wicket win over Australia, the duo picking 18 wickets between themselves. In 1981, Geoff Boycott surpassed Gary Sobers’ world record test aggregate.

Stay tuned for more Sports Updates. And if you are a fantasy sports fan, download our Mobile App.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *