MI, DC, SRH, and RCB step into the playoffs of IPL 2020.

Last Updated: 4th Nov,2020 3:20PM

Match no 56, the final match of the league stage in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020, took place between Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In their do or die contest, Hyderabad came out with flying colours. SRH crushed defending champions MI by 10 wickets. Being invited to bat first, Mumbai posted an average 149 on the board where no batter could put up an extraordinary show. It was only Kieron Pollard who accelerated Mumbai’s innings towards the end (41 off 25).

Shahbaz Nadeem was named as the player of the match as he conceded just 19 runs off his spell to pick two wickets. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan added 36 and 33 runs respectively from their end. The bowling section of Hyderabad was determined enough to create all the troubles for the opponents. Nadeem added the phenomenal spin attack to the team’s unit, and Sandeep Sharma named three wickets under his belt.

Source: iplt20

David Warner became the backbone of SRH’s batting unit

Chasing the ordinary target in Sharjah, SRH’s openers took the charge on their shoulders brilliantly. David Warner donned the skipper’s cap too well when he smashed 85* off 58, and Wriddhiman Saha played a magnificent knock of 58* off 45 to get the team over the line. The bowlers of Mumbai struggled to pick even a single wicket in this match.

Who has Orange and Purple Cap in IPL 2020?

The league stage is over, and four teams have qualified for the playoffs of IPL 2020. Teams in order of their rankings in points tally are- Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, followed by Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Though KXIP is out of the tournament, KL Rahul keeps possession of the Orange Cap, with huge 670 runs in his bag. He is followed by SRH skipper David Warner who has amassed 529 runs. The 3rd and 4th slots are held by Shikhar Dhawan and Devdutt Padikkal in the race for Orange Cap.

Purple Cap is back again with Delhi’s star pacer Kagiso Rabada, who has 25 wickets under his belt. Next in line is Jasprit Bumrah, who has 23 wickets. Jofra Archer, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult, and Yuzvendra Chahal have 20 wickets each under their belt.

List of top run-scorers in IPL 2020 – Orange Cap Holder

Sr NoPlayerTeamMatchesInningsRunsAverageSR4s/6s100/50sBest
1KL RahulKXIP141467055.83129.3458/231/5132*
2D WarnerSRH141452944.08136.6949/140/485*
3S DhawanDC141452547.72145.0258/102/3106*
4D PadikkalRCB141447233.71126.5451/80/574
5V KohliRCB141446046122.0123/110/390*
6Faf du PlessisCSK131344940.81140.7542/140/487*
7Q de KockMI141444336.9113838/200/478*
8S GillKKR141444033.84117.9644/90/370*
9I KishanMI121142847.55140.3229/260/399
10M AgarwalKXIP111142438.54156.4544/151/2106

List of most wicket-takers in IPL 2020 – Purple Cap Holder

Sr NoPlayerTeamMatchesInningsWicketsAverageBest
1K RabadaDC14142517.804/24
2J BumrahMI13132315.734/20
3J ArcherRR14142018.253/19
4Y ChahalRCB14142019.053/18
5T BoultMI13132020.904/18
6M ShamiKXIP14142023.003/15
7R KhanSRH14141915.573/7
8A NortjeDC13131921.103/33
9V ChakravarthyKKR13131720.945/20
10R ChaharMI14141526.532/18

Here’s the IPL 2020 points table in detail: