MI whitewashed the Delhi side to fire crackers in IPL 2020 finals
  • MI have 3 candidates in each of the IPL 2020 performance charts.
  • 4 of the top 7 wicket-takers in IPL 2020 are tied on number of scalps.
Source: iplt20

Qualifier one of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 took place between Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians. The fans expected it to be an absolute nail-biting thriller but it turned out to be a one-sided affair. MI crushed the Delhi side by 57 runs to make it to the final. Being invited to bat first, MI posted an impressive total of 200 runs on the board. Half-centuries from Suryakumar Yadav (51 off 38) and Ishan Kishan (55 off 30) defined Mumbai’s batting performance.

Jasprit Bumrah was named as the player of the match as he came up with an extraordinary match-winning spell. He unlocked a four-wicket haul to disrupt Delhi’s batting order. Quinton de Kock added 40 runs from his side, and their end saw something magnificent when Hardik Pandya produced quickfire 37 runs of 14 balls. Ace spinner Ravi Ashwin got the best for Delhi as he picked three wickets under his belt by maintaining a decent economy.

Bowling unit of MI stood to well for the team

Chasing down the hefty target, Delhi batting crumbled under great pressure as they reeled on 0-3.Marcus Stoinis’ 65 and Axar Patel’s 42 only delayed the inevitable. Boult picked two wickets under his belt in his very first over only. He had to leave the field after suffering a groin strain.

Who has Orange and Purple cap?

The 3rd and 4th slots are held by Shikhar Dhawan and Ishan Kishan in the race for Orange Cap.

Purple Cap is back again with Mumbai’s deadly pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who has 27 wickets under his belt. Next in line is Delhi’s star Kagiso Rabada, who has 25 wickets.

The eliminator of IPL 2020 is set to take place between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore on Friday.

List of top run-scorers in IPL 2020 – Orange Cap Holder

Sr NoPlayerTeamMatchesInningsRunsAverageSR4s/6s100/50sBest
1KL RahulKXIP141467055.83129.3458/231/5132*
2D WarnerSRH141452944.08136.6949/140/485*
3S DhawanDC151552543.75144.2358/102/3106*
4I KishanMI131248353.66144.1733/290/499
5Q de KockMI151548337.15139.5943/210/478*
6D PadikkalRCB141447233.71126.5451/80/574
7S YadavMI151446141.90148.2360/100/479*
8V KohliRCB141446046122.0123/110/390*
9Faf du PlessisCSK131344940.81140.7542/140/487*
10S GillKKR141444033.84117.9644/90/370*

List of most wicket-takers in IPL 2020 – Purple Cap Holder

Sr NoPlayerTeamMatchesInningsWicketsAverageBest
1J BumrahMI14142713.924/14
2K RabadaDC15152519.484/24
3T BoultDC14142219.404/18
4J ArcherRR14142018.253/19
5Y ChahalRCB14142019.053/18
6A NortjeDC14142022.553/33
7M ShamiKXIP14142023.003/15
8R KhanSRH14141915.573/7
9V ChakravarthyKKR13131720.945/20
10R ChaharMI15151528.862/18

MI hand DC embarrassing defeat to make IPL 2020 final.

Jasprit Bumrah’s best bowling figures this season and an all-round batting performance helped the Mumbai Indians progress into the IPL 2020 final. They beat the Delhi Capitals by 57 runs in Qualifier 1 at the Dubai International Stadium on Thursday.

After Shreyas Iyer opted to field first, Ravichandran Ashwin gave DC the perfect start by dismissing MI skipper Rohit Sharma in just the 2nd over with 16 runs on the board.

What followed was absolute carnage as Ishan Kishan (55 not out off 30) and Hardik Pandya (37 off 14) stitched together 60 runs off just 23 balls to propel MI to 200 for 5.

In reply, DC got off to the worst possible start as they were blown away by Trent Boult (2 for 9) and Jasprit Bumrah to be precariously placed on 0 for 3.