T20 World Cup 2021: Teams, Format, Points, Super Over, Reserve Days, Prize, Everything you want to know!

Credits: ICC Twitter

The T20 World Cup 2021 is now underway in Oman. It’s been a long time since the last T20 World Cup tournament which was held in India and won by West Indies. As they beat England in a last-over spine chiller at the Eden Gardens.

The competition scheduled in the second phase of 2020 in Australia. Covid pandem postponed it by a year requiring a rejig. Notwithstanding, presently Australia will have the occasion one year from now.

While BCCI have the hosting privileges of the T20 World Cup 2021. The scene shifted from India to UAE due to the Covid pandemic, with a potential risks that might emerge for a third wave.

How many teams are taking part?

A total of 16 teams are part of the T20 World Cup including India, Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, Afghanistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Oman, Namibia, Scotland and Papua New Guinea.

What is the format?

So there are two stages. First is the qualifying round where eight teams will be vying for the four vacant spots in the Super-12 – the second stage or the tournament proper. These teams have been divided into two Groups: A and B. Each team plays another once in the group and the top two from each will progress to the next stage.

Group A: Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Ireland

Group B: Oman Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Bangladesh

In Super-12 stage, the 12 teams have also been divided into two Groups – 1 and 2. Each team plays another once in the group and the top-two will progress to the semi-finals.

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1, A2

Points System

For each round, the winning team will be awarded two points, the losing none and in case of a no result (wash-out, abandonment etc.), one point each. Should there be multiple teams finishing with same number of points, the top-two will then be decided based on wins, net run-rate, head-to-head result.


In case both the teams finish on the same scores, the match will head into Super Over. And if that also ends in a tie, it will be followed by another Super Over and so on till one team wins.

Reserve Days

There are reserve days just for the semi-finals and the final. In the scenario of semi-final being abandoned, the team finishing higher in the Super-12 stage will progress to the final. In case, the final is abandoned, the trophy will be shared.


For qualifiers, the matches will be held at Al Amerat Cricket Ground (Ministry Turf 1) in Al Amerat and Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. The rest of the tournament starting with the Super-12 will be held across Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Dubai.


The crowd has been permitted but there are limited seats due to covid-19. For the matches in UAE, the stadiums will be operating at 70 per cent capacity.

Prize Money

The winner will get USD 1.6 million, the runners-up USD 8,00,000 while the two losing semi-finalists will receive USD 4,00,000 each.


Stay tuned for more Sports Updates. And if you are a fantasy sports fan, download our Mobile App.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *