T20 World Cup: Rashid resigns, Nabi new captain

Rashid Khan stepped down as captain. He said “the selection committee and ACB has not taken his consent for the team, declared by ACB media”. All-rounder Mohammad Nabi will lead the team now.

Rashid was named skipper and put out by the ACB’s Twitter handle. Yet he stepped down, from this point forward through his own tweet, posted 22 minutes after the ACb’s.

Too Much Interference?

In July, chief selector Asadullah Khan had given up his post, refering to “an excessive amount of interference” and obstruction from “non-cricketers” in the board.
Who have “no information about the players and selection” as the principle explanations behind his choice to look down.

Afghanistan’s team for the T20 World Cup contained a few players who had done well previously. Yet not been important for the national set-up lately. It includes Mohammad Shahzad, who got suspended for one year in late 2019, and has qualified to play since August 2020.

The speed couple of Shapoor Zadran and Dawlat Zadran are in the squad. Shapoor last played a T20I for Afghanistan in March 2020, Dawlat in September 2019. The injury-inclined Hamid Hassan, who hasn’t played a T20I for Afghanistan since March 2016, was likewise essential for the team.

ICC Rules: Simply an added advantage

Interestingly, the team decided had 18 players, with just two set apart as reserves. According to the ICC’s guidelines, each group needs to name a team of 15 players.

With an arrangement for naming reserve players. In April 2021, the ICC had expanded the team size for ICC events from 23 to 30. Including support staff, as a feature in relation to the Covid-19 pandemic.

With Rashid’s stepping down from from captaincy. Also the number of players named over the constraint of 15. There will probably be changes to Afghanistan’s team.

Afghanistan’s last T20I series was in March 2021 against Zimbabwe, during which Asghar Afghan led the group.

Team by ACB: Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Karim Janat, Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Usman Ghani, Naveen ul Haq, Asghar Afghan, Hamid Hassan, Mohammad Nabi, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najibullah Zadran, Dawlat Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Shapoor Zadran, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Qais Ahmad

Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Fareed Ahmad


Stay tuned for more Sports Updates. And if you are a fantasy sports fan, download our Mobile App.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *