ISL 2021-22: From Roy Krishna to Arindam Bhattacharya – Who are the captains of the ISL teams?

There are quite a number of Indians who will have the armband in the upcoming ISL. There are many upcoming stars like Anirudh Thapa and also as well as experienced like Arindam Bhattacharya.

Being a leader is not an easy task. You have to set the right examples and standards. Also, it is not only on the pitch but also off it. It is a responsibility that only a few fortunate ones can bear.

With the armband on, a player is more likely to have the spotlight on him than his teammates. Youngsters in the squad are likely to look up to him as a role model. Hence, it is their responsibility to uphold group morale even when the chips are down.

In the Indian Super League (ISL), there are a few players to whom leadership comes naturally. Edu Bedia of FC Goa, Roy Krishna of ATK Mohun Bagan FC, and Sunil Chhetri of Bengaluru FC are some of the prominent examples.

Meanwhile, there are a few clubs that have gone for a fresh face, like Jessel Carneiro in Kerala Blastersor and Arindam Bhattacharya in East Bengal. Whereas, there are a few clubs that have multiple captains like ATK Mohun Bagan and Odisha FC.

This season, several clubs have chosen to hand the skipper’s armband to an Indian player. Let us have a look at the skippers of the upcoming edition of ISL.

ATK Mohun Bagan(ISL)

ISL 2021-22: ATK Mohun Bagan - Squad, Fixtures, Strengths, Weakness, & Key  Players |
  1. Roy Krishna
  2. Pritam Kotal

Bengaluru FC(ISL)

Will Sunil Chhetri go for Real Madrid? - Quora
  1. Sunil Chhetri

Chennaiyin FC(ISL)

Chennaiyin sweat over Anirudh Thapa, Enes Sipovic's fitness before ATK  Mohun Bagan clash | Football News - Times of India
  1. Anirudh Thapa

SC East Bengal(ISL)

  1. Arindam Bhattacharya
  2. Tomislav Mrcela (Vice-Captain)


  1. Edu Bedia
  2. Ivan Gonzalez (Vice-Captain)
  3. Brandon Fernandes (3rd Captain)

Hyderabad FC

  1. Joao Victor
  2. Laxmikant Kattimani (Vice-Captain)
  3. Bartholomew Ogbeche (3rd Captain)

Jamshedpur FC

  1. Peter Hartley

Kerala Blasters

ISL: Left-back Jessel Carneiro pens three-year contract extension with  Kerala Blasters
  1. Jessel Carneiro

Mumbai City FC

  1. Mourtada Fall
  2. Mandar Rao Desai
  3. Rowllin Borges

NorthEast United FC

  1. Subhasish Roy Chowdhury

Odisha FC

  1. Vinit Rai
  2. Hector Rodas
  3. Victor Mongil

Stay tuned for moreĀ Sports Updates. And if you are a fantasy sports fan, download ourĀ Mobile App.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *