Memphis Depay is an international footballer who plays for the Netherlands National Team and Olympique Lyonnais. During the 2014–15 season, Memphis was Eredivisie‘s top scorer and helped his team win the Eredivisie title for the first time since 2008. Memphis also won the Dutch Footballer of the Year for his performances during the 2014-15 season. Depay’s performances also led him to be named the “Best Young Player” in the world in 2015 by France Football. Depay has represented the national team at every professional level from early developmental stages to the senior team.


Memphis was born on 13 February 1994 in the small South Holland village of Moordrecht, Netherlands. Memphis joined his boyhood club vv Moordrecht when he was just six years old before impressing scouts from Sparta Rotterdam at the age of eight.



Memphis has represented the National Team in the U-15, U16, U-17, U-19, U-21, and the senior team. Depay was a part of the Netherlands under-17 team which won the 2011 European Championship in Serbia. Memphis was selected to represent the Netherlands under-17 team in the 2011 FIFA U-17 World Cup held in Mexico. Depay made his international debut on 15 October 2013, against Turkey at the Şükrü Saracoğlu Stadium in World Cup qualification. Memphis was selected in the final 23-man squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. Depay became the youngest Dutchman to score a goal at the World Cup, at the age of 20 years and four months.


In 2011, Depay was on trial for PSV’s first team while playing for Jong PSV. He made his official debut for PSV on 21 September the 2014-15 season Depay finished the season as the league’s top scorer with 22 goals for PSV in the Eredivisie and helped his team lift the 22ND Eredivisie title first since 2008. On 12 June 2015, Depay signed for Manchester United. Depay signed for Olympique Lyonnais, on 20 January 2017 after not having successful seasons at Manchester United and having lost the trust of the managers.


Winner of the NFP Ligue 1 Player of the Month April 2018,

Champion of the Eredivisie top scorer 2014–15,

Winner of the Johan Cruyff Trophy 2014–15,

Champion of the France Football Best Young Player 2015,

Winner of the Ligue 1 Goal of the Year 2016–17.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *