Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Juventus are the three remaining clubs that are still committed to the so-called European Super League. Also, they will not face legal action for now. The other nine clubs involved – including Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Man City, Man United, and Spurs – no longer have to pay any fines.

UEFA has appealed to remove a judge in Madrid from its case against clubs still committed to the European Super League after suspending its legal action.
Monday’s suspension saw UEFA comply with the ruling of a court in Madrid. In which, they have found that it did not have the power or authority to take action against Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Juventus.

Real Madrid, Barcelona, Juventus dismiss UEFA's disciplinary proceedings

The three clubs had argued in court that UEFA’s attempt to punish them for setting up a breakaway league was against European competition law.

What UEFA has Said:

“UEFA has filed a motion for the recusal of the judge presiding over the current proceedings as it believes there are significant irregularities in these proceedings,” a UEFA statement read.

“In line with Spanish law and the fundamental interests of justice UEFA fully expects the judge in question to immediately stand aside pending the full and proper consideration of this motion.

“Further, UEFA shall also be making a formal appeal to a higher court, the Provincial Court of Madrid (Court of Appeal).”

Before the appeal has launched, UEFA said it would be contacting the other nine clubs involved in the attempted breakaway to tell them they do not have to pay. Also, for the time being at least the combined £22m. They had agreed to donate to grassroots and community projects for trying to set up the ESL in April.

Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus threatened with UCL ban | SportsMint  Media

The nine clubs are Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur, Atletico Madrid, AC Milan, and Inter Milan.

The court in Madrid ruled UEFA was breaking European Union free trade laws by pursuing disciplinary action against the three rebel clubs. Last week the court ordered UEFA to stop its disciplinary proceedings against Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Juventus.

In May the case had referred to the European of Justice where UEFA will deny that it acted unlawfully by blocking the creation of the ESL and threatening to punish clubs.

UEFA still has the option of taking disciplinary action against the three clubs when legal proceedings are finished. It can also then ask the other nine clubs to pay the agreed £22m.

Stay tuned for more Sports Updates. And if you are a fantasy sports fan, download our Mobile App.