As the sun of IPL 2021 is setting down, the sun of T20 WORLD CUP has started to shine. T20 World Cup is taking place in UAE and OMAN due to Covid-19 Pandemic. The T20 WC had to be organized in India but due to the Covid-19 situation in India, it was decided to shift it to the Middle East with BCCI having the rights to conduct the tournament.

The T20 World Cup will start from October 17 to November 14. The qualifiers for the World Cup will be played in Oman and the main matches will take place in UAE. There will be two rounds – SUPER 12 and ROUND-1.

Round-1 has two groups – GROUP A and GROUP B which includes those teams who need to qualify for the SUPER 12 round. The SUPER-12 round consists of two groups – GROUP 1 and GROUP 2, each group consists of 6 teams. Both the groups have already decided on four teams out of six. The other two teams in each group will be the winners. Four more sides will enter through qualifying and being split across the two groups to complete the line-ups. 



Group-1 consists of the likes of the big T20 teams – AUSTRALIA, ENGLAND, SOUTH AFRICA, AND WEST INDIES. This group is a group of death. All these teams will have to feel the heat of the heavy-sided matches.


The Aussies have taken the world by surprise for two reasons, the first being their recent form in T20 cricket. They faced a horrendous loss against the Bangladeshi tigers in a 5 match series. Second, being the surprise selection of Josh Inglis over Alex Carey.


The Englishmen have a depleted side with two of their key players Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer are not available for the T20 WORLD CUP. Tymal Mills is the surprising inclusion in the squad as Mills played his last international game 3 years back.

ALSO READ : T20 World Cup: Buttler Confident Of England Win


The Proteas have a totally young side with less experience. The major decision the South African Management took was to leave Faf Du Plessis, Imran Tahir, and Chris Morris out of the squad. The trio will be missed for sure in the important games.

ALSO READ : England and South Africa Squads announced


Windies have made a very surprising move by leaving out experienced Sunil Narine in the World Cup, even though of his good bowling performance in the CPL and IPL. One more interesting move that Windies Cricket has made is to give Ravi Rampaul a chance to play for West Indies after 8-9 years. Roston Chase, who has been in the news for his all-around performance in both tests and CPL, has got his way in the squad.



The hosts INDIA, PAKISTAN, NEW ZEALAND, and AFGHANISTAN make the cut in Group-2. A similar group was in T20 WORLD CUP 2016. These teams will have a close competition as all the teams are familiar with the conditions.


The hosts are not far behind when it comes to giving a chance to a player who played white-ball cricket for India 4 years back. Ravichandran Ashwin makes into the squad after Washington Sundar got injured during the England tour and couldn’t recover from the injury. Moreover, India added Varun Chakravarthy and Axar Patel into the squad with Yuzi Chahal and Shikhar Dhawan being left out. Moreover, Shardul Thakur, who played exceptionally well in the England series, was added into the reserves at the expense of out-of-form Hardik Pandya. MS DHONI WAS ADDED AS MENTOR FOR THE TEAM, that’s the best news for fans till now.

ALSO READ : ASHWIN MAKES IT TO THE T20 Squad. Some surprises by Indian selectors.


Babar Azam is leading a young side with some youngsters and some players from the PSL have got a chance to represent Pakistan in the WORLD CUP. An old lot of experienced players including Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz, and Sarfaraz Ahmed.

ALSO READ : T20 World Cup: Raja ropes in Hayden and Philander


The Kiwis have added some young guns and the management has decided to leave out Ross Taylor and Colin de Grandhomme from the squad. Cricket management has looked to play young players like Tim Siefert and Glenn Phillips.

ALSO READ : New Zealand abandons Pak tour over Terror Scare


The change in politics at the World Stage with the Taliban capturing Afghanistan has brought a significant change in the dynamics of cricket in Afghanistan has also changed. The announcement of the squad was made with Rashid Khan as captain but Rashid Khan resigned from the post of captain. Within a few hour’s time, Mohammad Nabi was chosen as captain. The squad has added Mohammad Shahzad after the 2019 WORLD CUP.

ALSO READ : T20 World Cup: Rashid resigns, Nabi new captain


Stay tuned for more Sports Updates. And if you are a fantasy sports fan, download our Mobile App.