Reliving Kolkata Knight Riders 2014 IPL Champions

On this day in 2014, Kolkata Knight Riders faced the Kings 11 Punjab in the finals of the Indian Premier League. The match was set to take place in the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore. Kolkata became the 2014 IPL champions.

Kolkata Knight Riders were coming with 8 consecutive wins to qualify for the finals. Kings 11 Punjab had a brilliant start to the season in the UAE and lost the spark when the tournament came to India again.

Kolkata qualified for the finals defeating Punjab in qualifier 1. Hence, Punjab faced Chennai Super Kings in qualifier 2. They defeated Chennai in a high-scoring match played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The Match

It was toss time in Bangalore, the two captains out in the middle with the match referee. Gautam Gambhir for Kolkata Knight Riders and George Bailey for Kings 11 Punjab. Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Opening the batting for Punjab were Virendra Sehwag and Manan Vohra. Punjab lost experienced opener Sehwag in the fourth over of the game. Captain Bailey walked in and was dismissed in the second ball he faced. In walked Wriddhiman Saha. The two batsman took the charge against the Kolkata bowlers. Before Manan was dismissed for 67 in the 18th over. Saha on the other hand had taken full charge against the Kolkata bowlers. He brought up his century which was first by any player in the finals of the IPL. Punjab finished their innings scoring 199/4 in their quota of 20 overs.

Opening the batting for Kolkata were Robin Uthappa and captain Gautam Gambhir. Robin fell to Johnson in the first over. The man of the final Manish Pandey walked into bat at 3. He and captain Gambhir started to build a partnership with keeping up with the required rate. After Gambhir’s dismissal in the 7th over. Manish and Yusuf Pathan built a partnership and kept the scoring rate ticking on. Therefore, after Yusuf was dismissed in the 14th over. Kolkata looked in trouble losing wickets in intervals. Kolkata eventually held its nerves and completed the match 3 balls before 20 overs. Therefore, it was Kolkata‚Äôs second IPL title in 3 years and 2014 IPL Champions.

Watch your Favorite Sports person Journey Stay tuned, To play Fantasy Sports Download our Mobile app.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *