Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 season estimated to start on April 11 – Important dates to keep in mind

In which month Indian Premier League 2021 is going to Start?

The Indian premier league IPL was founded by BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) in the year 2007. The first season of IPL was played in New Delhi in 2008. From the very beginning , it is scheduled to be played at a fixed time period i.e. from March to May yearly. Every year, 8 teams representing different states of India contest with each other.

IPL Format:

IPL is played in the T20 or Twenty 20 format which is a shortened version of cricket. In T20 format, the two competing teams play single innings each of 20 overs.

This is a shorter format of cricket in comparison to previous formats (one day and five day). Each 20 over innings lasts for 90 minutes with a 10 minute short break between the two innings. The match gets over within 3 hours of time.

Indian Premier League

Craze for IPL:

IPL has gained a lot of success and popularity in recent years. The league has managed to get an exclusive slot in ICC Future Tours Programme. It has the title of being the most visited cricket league.

Indian Premier League was the first sports event that featured live on YouTube in 2010. Mumbai Indians have won the most title prizes in the IPL season. They have bagged the title prize for IPL season 12 and 13 held in the year 2019 and 2020 respectively.

After a 4 month long break due to the coronavirus pandemic IPL 2020 was held on September 19, 2020. Fearing the pandemic the season was played in the United Arab Emirates in 2020 at Sharjah Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

Whether IPL 2021 will be held this year?

So far there have been 13 seasons in IPL. Speculations are rising around the 14th season of IPL being held this year. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many popular sports events either got delayed or cancelled. It is quite natural for doubts on the IPL 2021 to surface.

Reports are hinting that IPL 2021 could start on 11th of April. The registration of players took place till February 13. The auction process of buying players starts on February 18.

If reports are to be held true then BCCI is busy finalising the venue and schedule for conducting IPL 2021. The final word would be taken by the IPL Governing Council but tentatively it will start on 11 April.

Teams featuring in IPL 2021:

  • Chennai Super Kings (CSK) – owned by India Cements
  • Delhi Capitals (DC)- owned by JSW and GMR group
  • Kings XI Punjab (KXIP)- owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul
  • Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR)- owned by Red Chillies Entertainment and Mehta group
  • Mumbai Indians (MI)- owned by Reliance Industries
  • Rajasthan Royals (RR)- owned by Manoj Badale
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)- owned by United Spirits
  • Sun risers Hyderabad (SRH)- owned by Sun TV network

The countdown has begun for Indian Premier League 2021 to take place in April. Though there is uncertainty around the pending decision. The final word of the IPL GC is awaited by many cricket fans. Let’s hope that the season 14 is held according to the schedule hinted by the reports.

IPL Auction was recently done & to check out the new players which teams have acquired. Refer to our IPL Auction Blog with all updates.

If you are a fan of fantasy sports, Try league11 which recognized as India’s most reliable & trusted mobile app for all fantasy sports.

One Reply to “Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 season estimated to start on April 11 – Important dates to keep in mind”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *