IPL 2022 is on the brink of returning to our daily routine. The atmosphere around IPL is always the same. But this time IPL won’t be conducted in a similar fashion in comparison to its previous seasons.

This season 10 teams are seeded into two groups – Group A and Group B. Each group contains five teams.  

Group AGroup B
Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers Banglore
Delhi CapitalsPunjab Kings
Lucknow Super GiantsGujarat Titans

Division of Groups

Seeding is based on the basis of how many titles a team has won. The second basis is the number of times a team has emerged in the finals. Thus, Group A will be led by – 5-time Champions Mumbai Indians. Group B will be led by Chennai Super Kings who are the four-time champions.

The remaining teams in Group A are Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants. Group B will consist of Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans.

Number of Matches in IPL 2022

According to this new format, each team will face a total number of 14 matches in the group stage. Group A teams will face Group B teams twice and teams from the same group will face each other once. For example, Delhi Capitals will face Chennai Super Kings Twice and they will go up against Mumbai Indians once.  

The concept of home and away games is ruled out for this season. Matches are restricted to four venues in the city of Mumbai and Pune. Mumbai will host the majority of matches i.e. 55 while MCA (Maharashtra Cricket Association) which is located near the outskirts of Pune will host the remaining 15 matches. These 15 matches will be played in the group stage round. With this, the upcoming IPL season will host a total of 70 matches.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.