Ashes 2021-22: Australia announces Test squad for first two tests to face England.

Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

Cricket Australia has announced their 15-member squad to face England in the first two tests at Brisbane and Adelaide. The five test match series will commence from 8th December in Brisbane and will conclude on 14th January 2022 in Perth. The matches will be played in the following centres :

Ashes 2021-22 Schedule:

1December 8-12The Gabba, Brisbane
2December 16-20Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
3December 26-30Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
4January 5-9, 2022Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
5January 14-18, 2022Optus Stadium, Perth


Usman Khawaja earns a recall after a two-year wait, he played his last test match in 2019 that too against England only.

“Similarly, Usman Khawaja has been in great touch.”

“He brings a calm, consistent and experienced component to the batting lineup and is a proven run-scorer at Test level. “He also has the ability to bat across a range of positions in the batting order.” George Bailey added.

Jhye Richardson also gets the spot after being out due to injuries for a year. Micheal Neser and Mitchell Swepson also get a call to make their test debut after their debut in white-ball cricket.

Marcus Harris will be looked at as the first-choice opener after his consistent performances for Leicestershire in the County Matches.

“Marcus has been a consistent run-scorer domestically and had a strong winter further developing his game with Leicestershire. “He is a good player who will be looking to build a strong partnership with David Warner at the top of the order,” Bailey said.

Australia’s Ashes squad: Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner


Mitchell Marsh has missed on the spot in the main squad but has got a chance to play in the A games and prove his mettle in the test arena after showing his steel in white-ball cricket.

Australia has also announced their A squad to play against the England lions, the performances in the A Games will be crucial in order to reassess the situation and players performances for the remaining tests.

Australia A squad: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street


ECB announced their full-strength squad for THE ASHES, a month ago. England squad misses out on some big names like Jofra Archer and Sam Curran. Moreover, their biggest addition in the squad was that of Ben Stokes, who is coming after a mental-health break of four and a half months.

England Squad: Joe Root (Captain), Ben Stokes, James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

England will look to win the Ashes after a 20-year drought in Aussie land. Last time, Australia regained the Ashes and levelled the series 2-2. Moreover, Steven Smith-led Australia defeated England in the 2017-18 series by a margin of 4-1.

ALSO READ : Rahul Dravid states before India’s game against New Zealand, “We Will Not Prioritize Any Format.”

Stay tuned for more Sports Updates. Follow us on our social media for regular updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *