Sam Curran, Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes have been left out of the ODI squad.

Last updated: 4th Nov,2020 11:40AM

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), on Tuesday, named England’s ODI and T20I squads for the tour of South Africa, starting Friday, November 27. Eoin Morgan, whose stint for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL) came to an end, has been named as the skipper in all three formats.

In the meantime, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes have been left out from the ODI squads. While Archer and Stokes played for the Rajasthan Royals (RR), Curran was a part of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

On their omission, Ed Smith, England’s national chief selector, said that decent performances from the trio helped them make their way into the cash-rich and prestigious IPL. He also highlighted the importance of giving the players adequate rest to avoid fatigue and any sort of injury concerns.

“If you look at the commitment shown to England by those three players — Curran, Archer and Stokes — and their big performances in an England shirt, I don’t think anyone could question their commitment to the cause,” Smith told.

Root and Wokaes not part of England’s T20I team

As far as the teams are concerned, Joe Root and Chris Woakes couldn’t find a place in the Three Lions’ T20I squads. The ODI and T20I series will be hosted by two venues in South Africa- namely the Newlands in Cape Town and the Boland Park in Paarl.

Here’s the T20I squad:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood.

Here’s the ODI squad: 

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.